Skip directly to content

Book Review

The Viaz'ma Catastrophe, 1941 Book Review Published

on Thu, 09/11/2014 - 12:55

Good morning. The Michigan War Studies Review has published my review of Lev Lopukhovsky's The Viaz'ma Catastrophe, 1941: The Red Army's Disastrous Stand against Operation Typhoon. For readers possessing a bit of background knowledge on the subject matter this is a superb book offering new insight into one of the most important campaigns of the Second World War.

If you are interested in how and why the Wehrmacht during Operation Typhoon was able to wreck the most powerful Fronts in the Red Army then I cannot recommend this book enough.

Armor and Blood Book Review Published

on Wed, 04/30/2014 - 18:54

Good Afternoon. I just wanted to let everybody know that the Michigan War Studies Review has published my review of Dennis Showalter's Armor and Blood: The Battle of Kursk: The Turning Point of World War II. I am happy to say that this is a wonderful book, unlike the last book I reviewed for them (David Stahel's lamentably lacking Operation Typhoon), especially in terms of introducing the general World War II enthusiast to an accurate and well written description of this very important battle.

New Book Review: The Taste of War by Lizzie Collingham

on Mon, 03/24/2014 - 23:12

I just finished Lizzie Collingham's The Taste of War, and in my most recent review for this website strongly recommend it to anyone interested in the Second World War.

New Book Review Published

on Fri, 10/25/2013 - 14:12

The Michigan War Studies Review (MiWSR) has just published my latest book review. This is my third review for MiWSR (a scholarly journal affiliated with the Michigan War Studies Group) and it is of David Stahel's Operation Typhoon: Hitler's March on Moscow, October 1941. Unlike the previous two work's I have reviewed for MiWSR this is unfortunately a book that I found quite lacking.

Though the book has some commendable qualities, it's overall impact is to further obscure just why and how the Second World War reached the conclusion it did.

Gun Mart Magazine Recommends Why Germany Nearly Won

on Fri, 09/20/2013 - 15:26

The latest issue of Gun Mart Magzine  is now available, and readers can find on its website a recommendation of Why Germany Nearly Won: A New History of the Second World War in Europe.

Gun Mart Magazine praises Why Germany Nearly Won: "There are plenty of books which postulate the opinion of ‘what if’ Germany had won the war, but this book is different. Firstly, the opinion of the title is based on solid research to present a sound argument.

New Book Review Published

on Fri, 06/21/2013 - 20:24

The Michigan War Studies Review (MiWSR) has just published my latest book review. This is my second review for MiWSR (an online scholarly journal affiliated with the Michigan War Studies Group) and it is of Matthew Brzezinski's Isaac's Army: A Story of Courage and Survival in Nazi-Occupied Poland.

My first review for MiWSR was of Nathan N. Prefer's The Battle for Tinian: Vital Stepping Stone in America's War Against Japan. I was able to recommend the book, and enjoyed it quite a bit. That said, and taking nothing away from Prefer's book, I found Brzezinski's work to be a tremendously

Two New Book Reviews Published

on Thu, 04/25/2013 - 00:32

Just an update on two new book reviews done by yours truly. The first has been published by the Michigan War Studies Review. In February I was asked to join their stable of reviewers and I wholeheartedly agreed. For those of you who haven't had a chance to take a look at the work done by the Michigan War Studies Review I can't recommend it enough. The Michigan War Studies Review (MiWSR, formerly MWSR) is an online scholarly journal affiliated with the Michigan War Studies Group and edited by James P. Holoka. Items are published on a rolling basis and gathered in annual volumes.

My first

New Book Review

on Mon, 03/18/2013 - 23:16

We have a brand new book review. Jonathan Beard has reviewed Paul Kennedy's Engineers of Victory: The Problem Solvers Who Turned the Tide in the Second World War.  Mr. Beard is a freelance journalist, researcher and translator living in New York City.  He has worked for several science magazines, including New Scientist and Science Illustrated, and translated for various publications, including the late World Press Review.  He has written hundreds of book reviews for many publications. His military history reviews are online at the Michigan War Studies Review: 

On October 1, 2012 The Michigan War Studies Review published its review of Why Germany Nearly Won: A New History of the Second World War in Europe. The review provided below is as it appears on the Michigan War Studies Review website:

Steven D. Mercatante, Why Germany Nearly Won: A New History of the Second World War in Europe. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger, 2012. Pp. xviii, 408. ISBN 978–0–313–39592–5.

Review by Ralph M. Hitchens, Poolesville, MD (rmhitchens@netscape.net).

This book does not quite live up to its title, but it is worth reading nevertheless.

World War II Magazine (a publication of the Weider History Group - the world's largest publisher of history magazines) in its November/December 2012 issue is publishing it's review of Why Germany Nearly Won: A New History of the Second World War in Europe. Reviewer Conrad Crane finds that Why Germany Nearly Won is a "thought provoking book" whose "case deserves to be heard".  The review provided below is as published (text only: minus two accompanying pictures and book title/publisher/pricing information):

This book’s title doesn’t adequately describe the ambitions of the author. Steven D.

Pages